Passion


As we date and live our lives the best way we know how, we – along the way – find out that each person we meet has their own talents that makes them unique. They may have a killer voice, killer words in which we can read or perhaps killer skill in sports, arts, or whatever other realm they endure. Today I had the pleasure of meeting someone whose talent swept me away. It was induced with a passion that filled the room in which I sat, where I watched him – ears up – perform some of my favourite songs on a classic acoustic guitar. How wonderful it is to be in the presence of someone who has a such a presence. I immediately equated him playing, the joy he gets from it and the joy he in turn gives to others from it to other people I know and what they do, myself being one of them.

How fortunate many of us are (who follow our hearts as opposed to unwritten expectations of what career is the best and most respected choice) by filling our lives with a career choice that makes working not seem like work. Instead we look forward to doing what we do. Passion at its finest. That passion in turn seeping out into those who surround themselves in our company.

A famous quote from Confucius, reads “Find a job you love and you’ll never work a day in your life.” How important it is for us to remind ourselves of that, instead of following societal expectations or the expectations perhaps of our parents. If you are one of the lucky ones who has something you are passionate about and have a special talent making you unique, follow your heart, for your life will be more fulfilled (albeit perhaps not financially) otherwise.

In dating and in relationships it is important to determine whether or not you find yourself interested in what your partners talents and passions are. If you can not only understand them, but also appreciate them, this my friends is a very good sign (and a large indicator that there won’t be any resentment).

Ask yourself you dynamic dynamos you:

– What’s my talent?
– What’s my passion?
– And am I expressing it to the best of my ability.

– Jenny Jen

Photo Credit: BANEFUL & BEAUTIFUL.

4 thoughts on “Passion

  1. I had no idea you were practically my neighbour! I live in Burlington, so it's awesome to see another Canadian gal 🙂 Great post, it's quite reflective for the readers, and only a small fraction of us do what we really love (including me!)

  2. Agree with the last part! When I was in a relationship, I enjoyed the little hobbies and quirky interests that my BF had because I enjoyed his company so much. If I don't like a guy, then I barely hear what they're into. But the more his interests are passions then they can be shared.

Leave a Reply

