You’re So Vain, I Bet You Think This Blog Is About You

Your so vain, I bet u think this blog is about you.

Not a day goes by when I don’t get some type of email from some type of friend who totally relates to my blog. It’s perfect and just what I’m going for. I write in a general way and never use names so that you can easily insert yourself as the lead in my stories.

The problem is, the generality of my writing style makes it so easy for any twentysomething with a lust for life to relate to, that everyone seems to think its about them. We are living in an egotistical world, and I am an egotistical girl. So no need to take my posts personally. That would insinuate that I sit around thinking about you and although you’re wonderful, great, perhaps even a good friend, that just isn’t so.

Think about when you’re out at an event. You’re all dolled up, you’re scanning the crowds, you’re chatting with people, and what happens? You spend time in that pretty little head of yours wondering what people are thinking about you. You wonder ‘do people like my outfit? Do they think I’m funny? Why isn’t he giving me his number? Did I say something wrong?’ As evidenced by this totally self-indulgent cycle of thoughts, it’s all too clear that we so often internalize things.


Have you ever gone to Facebook creep someone and suddenly notice their wall is no longer up? Let me guess your first thought (call me psychic Jenny if you will): why did so and so block me from seeing their wall? You start wondering what you did wrong and become even more suspcious, when in fact the person simply removed everyone from seeing their wall.

Well imaginative lady, I too am the same way. I put myself first and whenever I have somethign to say (when do I not?) I write it out. Which is why, when I put paper to pen, my rantings are a concoction of what’s going on in my life, my mind and my heart.

I ran into someone I once dated yesterday and he told me that he ran into a girl we both know and she brought up my blog and asked if he’d seen one of my latests posts which was about him. I couldn’t help but laugh and think about the vanity we all seem to possess. And here I thought I was the only one.

– Jenny Jen

Photo credit: BANEFUL & BEAUTIFUL.

Leave a Reply

