Raging on Red bull?

Do you drink Red Bull (or another energy drink of choice)? Now, just to break down the question so we’re all on the same page: I’m not referring to you Red Bull bandwagoner’s who drink it mixed in with some Vodka (or even Jaegermeister) on nights out. But instead, I’m referring to those hardcore, Red Bull fiends who drink the drink without alcohol. You’re the same person who drinks it during the day because of – a combination between – a) the taste and, b) the way it makes you feel. It’s as if you really ‘have wings’ as the commercials and ads promise; an experience greater than the jitters. Yes you little energy-drink-hound you, I’m talking to you. Do people look at you like you’re wearing a clashing outfit when they see you take the can of Red Bull to your lips as you chug it to your heart’s delight?


Well I am a you too, with Red Bull being my greatest fix, yet also my greatest regret. I am a Red Bull aficionado; the light blue (sugar-free) can’s being my go-to on a regular basis. It gives me an immediate kick. Songs become more catchy and singable, I become chattier and I even talk at a speedier rate. I feel like I want to tap my feet, and my hands, and whatever else can tap. I feel a burst of energy and even a car ride becomes more enjoyable. But the feeling isn’t limited to music and car rides, instead, it seeps into all my daily activities. Each sip swallowed makes me crave the next. I feel great. That is until nighttime comes, when I feel suddenly down, a contrast from the energy that once was. I yearn (like we all do) for the past feeling to come back. I try to rest my way out of the downess, but I can’t seem to sleep.

They call this crashing and burning, and that I do. Yet, when I walk down the drink aisle in the grocery store, the shiny cans call my name in all their glory. I can’t resist. It’s almost as if I forgot it’s negative effects (though I suppose that’s how our memory works, hanging onto the good and forgetting the bad).

Yesterday, Health Canada advised that children under the age of 18 should not be consuming energy drinks. Pressure is being put on Health Canada to have producers of energy drinks put proper labelling on the drinks so people can be aware of all the caffein they are consuming. The Canadian Medical Association Journal voiced alarm yesterday as well, due to the increase of popularity in these wing-giving drinks.

Like most junkies, the Red Bull – junky in me is not yet ready to put down my can. But what I can do is create awareness so that people who do choose to drink the-drink-of-all-drinks; they can at least know what they are getting themselves into. We are in our twentysomethings after all. Time for us to call the shots, and accept what’s to come from our grand decisions.

Bottoms up blondie!

– Jenny Jen

Leave a Reply

