Young Girl Seeks Pool


Remember the days when you would crave a pool to lounge by and take a dip in when the sun was out? Some girls envy other girls for their clothes, their men, even their bodies, but I was a girl who envied other girls for their pools. Yes, their pools. I was always the girl who lived next to houses with pools, but never had my own. Cry me a river, tough life, I know what you’re thinking but to me the pool was the epitome of perfection, and those who had the luxury of having one were nothing short of being my heroes.

Growing up, were you not jealous of the other kids you knew who had a pool? Did you not hope for – wait a minute, correction, pray for – an invite to their pool? This invite to you was like being asked to the prom. It was the invitation of all invitations. I know someone who suddenly became the most popular kid come summertime (likely a result of his salt water pool) but during the cooler seasons he didn’t have many takers. And there you have it.

Back when I was still but a young girl, and my mom would make play dates for me with my friends, there would be an influx of requests on my end to get together with friends that had pools. The best was when neighbours of mine who I was so close with decided to build a pool, and gave me an open invitation. To say I spent everyday their splashing around is an understatement. Eat, sleep, swim baby was the mentality as it was.

Being a June baby only sealed the deal for me. Pool parties were my go to year after year, and all my friends were just as excited as I. My mom would go out of her way to find the hippest pools across the city and somehow she never fell short. Bring a pool and do no wrong. I still run into people who still applaud my mom and talk about their memories of my always-fabulous pool parties. Now if only I had a pool of my own, I’d think, though I still take the comments with class.

And the innocent, childhood fun of lying around a pool and playing in it isn’t lost in our twentysomethings. As great as it is to sit on a rooftop patio with a killer view of the city (a luxury many of our condo buildings seem to provide), a pool still seals the deal. Just like in ‘Sex and the City ‘where Samantha craves the pool chill to such an extreme that she becomes an imposter to get in an exclusive club known for their pool. But not going to lie, the joy of reaping a pools’ benefits may be worth the humility. Good work Sam.

So if you can land yourself poolside, here is what you’ll need:

– A spray bottle of tanning oil: A bronzed glow can be enforced with the right tool. The lobster look was never a look to strive for. Keep a spray tan of banana boat oil on tab and spray it on leisurely. Not only will it help you get the bronzed look you’re going for but it will give you a shiny Maxim girl look. Watch out men!

– Chick Lit. Nothing makes the time go by faster than a naughty novel to tempt your mind. Find a flirty book, and feel free to let the plot line seep into your love life. Hot tips aren’t just segregated to the pages of the women’s bible anymore (cosmopplitan magazine).

– An itty bitty bikini. Its not so much about how your body looks in it as it is about how you feel in it. Beauty is all about inner confidence so get a fierce little number that makes you feel like yourself, and work it.

What to leave at home:

– As much as your squinty baby blues are longing for a pair of designer shades, leave them at home. The ‘racoon eyes’ thing should be a mistake we’ve learned from in the past. No amount of concealer and/or cover up ever hides the fact that you’re wearing white sunglasses, even though nothing is on your face.

– Jenny Jen

3 thoughts on “Young Girl Seeks Pool

  1. I never had a pool growing up but felt the same way you do- bring on the pool!In Texas, every single apartment complex has a really good pool so we can use some of our friend's pools, and we can also use the awesome pools at the country club 🙂

  2. I really enjoyed reading this article until the what to bring part. I get being bronzed is your trademark and it works but I was kind of shocked. Maybe you don’t realize how strong your presence is, but a lot of girls read your blog and I just think with your influence you should be promoting SPF usage. Even Babe Walker from White Girl Problems promotes. Cupcakes and Cashmere, the Luxe sisters, almost everyone.
    Faux-tan is in right now. Its all about treating your skin like royalty, not baking in banana boat oil.
    I love your work and I respect your right to your opinioin and post whatever you want, thats actually something I admire about you, you post your honest thoughts, so no pressure but its just something to think about.

    • Thanks for your thoughts. I think you are bang on. That post was written two summers ago and since then not only do I practice safer sun, but I also have some great products that give me that bronzed glow that I lust after. Perhaps I can do a post on that to promote. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

