My Song

So although I love to rant and rave about the latest happenings in my life in an I’m-your-bestie-on-a-phone-call-with-you conversational tone, I also write some deeper stuff in a format – though more intimate – quite different. The following are lyrics to a song I wrote and aptly titled ‘My Song’. I’m excited to share my work with you and I invite you to stay tuned to the recorded version, which is currently in process. I will update you rest be sure, upon its release.

My Song

Listening closely, to the lyrics in your song
They’re all about me, what I’ve done wrong
Left you no choice, alone, to blame
Left you standing there, then listened to your pain

How was I to know, that your love would pause?
That you’d be caught in a daze, that you’d suffer such a loss?
Because although sad, that an ending had arrived
I shrugged my shoulders, I had already cried
See as one door closes, another opens wide
It was time to walk in, head held high in stride.

It’s you and six strings
the only ones you now play
No pulling, just strumming
It comes free this way

It’s you and your chords
not us, just you
It’s you and your guitar
savour your music
rewritten truths

My feet they tap, to the beat of your heart
As your voice blares out, your tone rattles me apart
Your guitar you strum, as intense as you can
For the bridge you sing, you’d jump off of if you can

It’s you and six strings
the only ones you now play
No pulling, just strumming
It comes free this way

It’s you and your chords
not us, just you
it’s you and your guitar
savour your music
rewritten truths

As the instrumental chimes in, we hear the violens play
And your fans commend you, for the talent you display
For your tears, they cheer
For your heart break, they endear
You struggle to pick up the pieces, their pleasure is your fear

It’s you and six strings
the only ones you now play
No pulling, just strumming
It comes free this way

It’s you and your chords
not us, just you
it’s you and your guitar
savour your music
rewritten truths

2 thoughts on “My Song

Leave a Reply

