What’s Your Horoscope Sign?

Some people check their horoscopes each day, reading the words directed to their specific astrological sign in hopes to gain some type of insight and direction. These horoscopes are so general, that when reading them, there is always a way for someone to find meaning in it, to directly relate it to their life. As we read our horoscope, our imagination is in full effect, working double time to make it make sense to ourselves and our life story. Some people not only read their horoscope, but read their partners horoscope as well. Perhaps they may even go so far as to read their crushes horoscope, in hopes of finding out what his day has to offer him. Are you guilty of this? Reading his horoscope hoping to piece his with yours to create a guide to balance your days together? A sign as to what you should look out for or beware of. Cosmopolitan magazine goes so far as to write a special ‘read his horoscope’ section, and tells you what his friskiest days of the month are, and what he craves in bed this month according to his sign. Yes, really. We read our mans horoscopes to gain some clue of what our day together has to offer. Sorry to be the creep to break it to you boys, but many women do this and they are not stopping this stalker-of-a-habit anytime soon.

I’ve gone through phases where I’d log on to thestar.com daily and check out what the world has to offer to me, a tested and true gemini. When I don’t like what my horoscope says for the day, I instantly discard what I just read and then tell myself to ignore it because it’s so obvious horoscopes are a sham. But when I read my horoscope and it tells me just what I want to hear, I swear by horoscopes and I feel fulfilled and happy. It’s kind of this love/hate relationship that I love it when it makes me feel better about myself and I hate it when it challenges me.

What do our horoscopes mean to us and why do we go out of our way to scope them out? Every magazine and newspaper prints horoscopes in their publications. I have friends who don’t ever read the paper, but always flip through the pages until they get to their horoscope. It’s as if we need answers. We call our friends and do the whole let’s-meet-for-coffee thing, with the whole ‘what do you think he meant when he said this?’ and the ‘he must’ve been thinking this’ thing with friends as we seek advice and try to figure out what our future has to offer regarding certain situations. We are all wonderers, wanting to know the future in the now. We want to know how things will work out whether it’s with the person who we are dealing with, a job opportunity, the list is endless. Horoscopes offer us a chance to get a glimpse into the future. They act as a tool to allow us to make guided decisions on how to act and how to be. They tell us what we want to hear, because we find a way to make a story around what we read. The difficult part, is that horoscopes are misleading. Your gut, your logic and your wisdom are the tools you have to make appropriate decisions, and though reading your (and his) horoscope is fun, in theory it may throw you off.

If you don’t like your horoscope, then what? Do you head to another website, magazine or newspaper in hopes that it will say something more positive? So now, you are picking what you want to tell yourself, you at this point then know what you want to hear and instead of just realizing it, you are now going out of your way to sugarcoat advice to yourself. You are acting like the producer as you orchestrate your own plot line, in a frenzy of fifty horoscopes (you’d have read 51 if you could find another website that you haven’t already read). You’ve walked into the danger zone. There’s a Woody Allen quote, that so applies to what I am describing. He says, “Why ruin a good story with the truth?” Think about it my astrologically inclined ladies you. We are basically looking for what we want to hear, when often times we know all this already.

I once worked for a monthly magazine, and was totally disappointed when I was asked to select a batch of horoscopes to place in the magazine, from a set of 12 month, pre written horoscopes. I guess I’m now more open minded when it comes to reading my horoscope. Sometimes I use it as an advice guide – a wit of the day if you will. I need to take them for what they are.

Here is a list of some A list famous faces and their astrological signs. Which one are you?

Aries (March 21 – April 19)


Kate Hudson

Taurus (April 20 – May 20)


Meagan Fox

Gemini (May 21 – June 20)


Marilyn Monroe

Cancer (June 21 – July 22)


Lindsay Lohan

Leo (July 23 – August 22)


Kim Cattrall

Virgo (August 23 – September 22)


Blake Lively

Libra (September 23 – October 22)


Ashlee Simpson-Wentz

Scorpio (October 23 – November 21)


Anne Hathaway

Sagittarius (November 22 – December 21)


Scarlett Johansson

Capricorn (December 22 – January 19)


Sienna Miller

Aquarius (January 20 – February 18)


Jennifer Aniston

Pisces (February 19 – March 20)


Jessica Biel

I’m a Marilyn.

– Jenny Jen

Leave a Reply

